We're You Arrested
for Drunk Driving?
DWI / DUI
"We Can Help"
Learn more about a
DWI or DUI in Texas
| DWI Facts
In most Texas DWI cases, there are 3 pieces of evidence open to one
interpretation of the law, include breath test/chemical tests were the regulations followed?
What is the validity due to lack of
Texas Criminal Defense Trial Attorneys
What Happens After A DWI /
DUI Arrest in Texas?
There are usually both Motor Vehicle and Court Proceedings.
Administrative License Revocation:
To preserve your right to drive in Texas, you must request a
hearing within 15 days of when you were served with a Notice of
Suspension (usually the date of arrest). If you timely requested a
hearing to contest your license suspension, you will be able to
continue driving until the hearing. If you lose at the hearing,
you can not drive after the hearing. It is our opinion you should
requests the officer's presence at the hearing. Crucial defenses
can be developed at the hearing. If your license is suspended at
the hearing, you may be able to secure an occupational license to
This is your initial court date. It will either be noted on your
bond release or you will be notified by mail when to appear
(usually about 30 to 60 days after arrest). This hearing is
primarily for advisement of rights. If you have an attorney, he
will advise you.
3. Pre-trial Conference:
Your attorney will discuss your case with the District Attorney
and negotiate the best possible plea bargain. This conference will
happen about 6 weeks after arraignment. This is usually after the
driver's license hearing (ALR). The date is set by the Court and
your attorney on his calendar.
4. Suppression Hearing:
The Court may suppress some or all of the evidence against you if
your constitutional rights have been violated. Your attorney will
file motions to suppress. It occurs anywhere 6 weeks to 3 months
after the pre-trial conference.
You may either request a bench trial wherein the court hears the
case. If the case is a misdemeanor, the trial will be to a jury of
six. If the case is a felony, the jury will be to a jury of
The Court imposes a sentence after a conviction at trial or after
a plea bargain is accepted and a plea entered. Sentences may
include jail time, numerous fees, fines, community service,
alcohol classes and fines.
|Stephen L. Hamilton, P.C.
Attorney At Law
802 Main Street
Lubbock, TX 79401
Phone (806) 794-0DWI
Fax (888) 595-5578
TOLL FREE 1-888-DWI-LUBBOCK
Payment Plans Available
Major Credit Cards Accepted
|Reproduction of any material on this site without written permission is strictly prohibited.
� Copyright 1997-2005 BLS 2012 Stephen L. Hamilton Attorney At Law. All Rights Reserved.